Using Photos from other websites

Hi Guys,

I am new to web design and blogging and was wondering where I can get my photos from?

If I use a photo off another website do I just credit the website or the photographer, as I see a lot of images are from “Getty Images” Can I use these images and put the source as Getty Images or have the company already paid for the loyalty for thee images?

Thanks in advance

Getty Images is a paid site. You have to pay to use the images.

Here is a random one I clicked on.

I’ve never used them, but Getty Images seems to be one of the highest priced stock photo websites I’ve ever seen.

Most photos you find will have their own terms and conditions around them. Each one may be different. Some sites like iconmonstr have fully unlimited corporate licenses, which is the best.

http://iconmonstr.com/license/

There are a number of threads in the forum discussing possible sources of images. You could try these, for a start.

You can also do an image search on Google, and under “search tools” use the “Usage rights” dropdown to look for appropriate images. I’ve found that to be a good guide, but I would always check with the relevant site first before using images.

1 Like

Ok thanks for the advice guys.

I am looking for images that are up to date as my blog wi be on current golf issues so would like photos that have been in the news.

I suppose typing in google images and looking for the rights is the best way but I will check out the icon monster website.

Thanks for you help

You’re not going to have the rights to use those images. If you’re going to get in trouble using images you don’t have license to use, it’s going to be the ones that are featured on popular news websites. These sites usually pay big money for these photographs and don’t want people stealing them.

That site is irrelevant to your question. I was just using it’s Terms of Use as an example of what you should look for. It’s just icons, not photographs.