What got you past the Desert of Despair?

I really liked this article on the difficulties of learning to code. It might be similar to learning anything new, but there sure is a lack of resources and direction in that middle part — between the “this is awesome!” phase of early days, but before you can actually do anything with your new skills.

What got you past that phase?

I feel the article is a bit unfair. First off, he seems to have started to learn to code when he was an adult, and already had a different career. So yes, he had an uphill battle to begin with. Everything he learned over the past 10-15 years didn’t train him to think like a programmer. Adults are also harder to teach than say children (which has been repeatedly shown in studies).

I started learning programming in Junior High (6th maybe 7th grade – so ages 11 or 12). I was taught to think things in a logical way, identify the steps the task asks you to complete, then think about how you’d write a program to do each step.

I never struggled through any of my programming classes/jobs. That doesn’t mean I don’t get the occasional challenge that takes me 2-5 days to complete/find and fix the bug, it simply means, mentally I can work it out because I was taught/raised in a way that taught me how.

He struggled because he made a huge change. He never had to think that way, he wasn’t taught how early on in life, and therefore he had to start over in how he processed things. Yes, that would be difficult, but I don’t think 99% of the programmers today had that problem. Many started when they were young and thus were taught to think logically from day 1. So do we repress the challenges/struggles we had? No. Because we didn’t have them.

That was a major miss on his part when he wrote his article. How he got started and how the rest of us primarily got started makes a big difference in the experiences we’ve had with programming.

2 Likes