AP DIVS moving with different screen sizes

Hello,
I am new in designing websites and I have a question I haven’t been able to answer anywhere else so far.

When I designed my website I did it using DreamWeaver CS5. I started using (or drawing) AP DIVs to place objects in them. Everything went well because I tested it on my laptop and It was working fine in at least three different browsers, then I did it in a smaller (screen) laptop and it worked just fine. However, when I opened the page in a wider screen. the main image (made in Photoshop as a template) remained centered because it was placed on a table, but everything else (text, buttons, images, etc) appeared moved to the left.

Also, when the page it is not totally maximized, the same thing happens.
What can i do? should I insert something in the code?

I tried converting APDivs to tables, but it just messed up everything.

Please heeelp!!
Thank you

Hi panterall7. Welcome to SitePoint. :slight_smile:

AP is not good for page layout, but neither are tables. AP is very inflexible. For example, when you add more content to an AP element, the other elements on the page don’t shift position to accommodate it, meaning it’s a poor method for page layout.

Of course, the ideal is to learn HTML and CSS so that you can code the page yourself. But short of that, the main thing to know about AP is that the positioning is in relation to a parent element that is also positioned (e.g. position: relative).

By default, an AP element will be placed in relation to the view-port (browser window), so it the browser window is resized, the elements will move. The way to stop that is to wrap them in another element (say a div) and give that div position: relative. So if you have a site with everyhing centered on screen, you could possibly wrap everything in a div with a class (say) of “wrap”, and then in your CSS file give the “wrap” div a width (say 960px), center it (e.g. margin: 0 auto), and give it positon: relative.

.wrap {