CAN SEO agency DELIBERATELY bring down my website rankings?

Hi all, Nice to meet everyone here. I am a newbie. I have some questions to ask and sincerely hope some experts can enlighten me ?

Based on an scenario only, lets say I engaged An SEO agency and pass them all my cpanel password to bring up a website ranking in google for 6 mths, and after 6mths, i stopped their service. QUESTION:

1. Can they deliberately bring down my website ranking ?

2. If my website ranking dropped in google by a huge amount after I stopped their service, isit more of a case of google or more of a case of the SEO AGENCY ?

3. What are the things I should be aware before engaging an SEO agency ?

Thank you so much guys.

Don’t give ANYONE the password that gives full access to your site. An SEO agency should be able to do what they need to with only a minute fraction of what the cpanel password would give them access to.

[FONT=verdana]Hi Hope, welcome to the forum. I’ll do my best to answer your questions.

Can they deliberately bring down my website ranking ?

If you give them complete access to your site, then they can do anything they like with it. That might include editing all the content so that it is no longer relevant or useful to your target audience; or doing various other things that could lower the quality of the site in different ways. Doing that would inevitably hurt your ranking.

The solution to that is not to give them access to the site. There’s no reason for a SEO firm to have cPanel access, for instance. Their role should be to recommend what actions you take to improve your ranking, and then let you take the necessary steps yourself. In that case, there’s very little they would be able to do to hurt your ranking in any way.