Color choice question

Hello I am looking for some design advice. I work for a small company and we are in the process working up a new design for our site. I am having a bit of difficulty trying to figure out a reasonable color scheme that will compliment the colors that the company uses in it’s print media which is displayed below.

I am not a great designer but I know that these color will more than likely not produce the desired results. All the company’s print media are a mix of only these three colors, and usually all three on the same poster or brochure in large rectangular color blocks. This is creating a bit of a conflict for a few reasons. If we use this principle on a website how can you call attention to important elements if the users eye is constantly being distracted by bright colors everywhere. Secondly keeping people on the website for as long as possible is more and more important to the owners yet I don’t see how that is possible if we are making their eyes bleed.

A lot of the mockups that come my way have a lot of bright red background with bright yellow text over it, or bright yellow background with black text for headings, it’s mess of colors that bleed all over themselves. It has been a big fight to get the content areas to be mostly white background.

I guess my question is this. If you were in this situation what would you do? I have a hard time trying to verbalize just how bad that color scheme is for a website where we both want and need users to stick around without causing a seizure. My idea would be to go with a minimalistic style design of white and black and use these colors as accents and call to action elements. Any ideas?

Those are very primary colors. In fact, they are the primary colors. =p

I wouldn’t use any of them as a main color. I think what you should go with would be to use those as accents on a largely gray (light grays/white and dark grays/black) design, but use those colors to add some pop.