Help for a beginner

Hi Everyone!

I am VERY new to blogging and I just had a quick question. I’m going to be quiting my job in a couple months to be a stay at home mom. I’m interested in blogging to create a small supplemental side income for my family. I’ve done alot of research about making money blogging, but most of it is for earning a full time income. What are the best ways for me to earn a part time income ($1,500-$2,000/month). Since I am going to be a fulltime homemaker, I’m not looking to work 8 hrs a day, just something I can do for a couple hours a day, but manage to get some kind of financial benefit…is that unrealistic? Thanks in advance!!

Yes. You want to earn 15 to 20 thousand dollars a year for working part time at a job that is totally new to you? That’s right… it’s a job. Earning a living (or part of one) is no easier on the web than it is any other way.

Moreover, you’ll be starting a business. What’s your experience in starting or running a business. Did you know that most start-ups fail in their first year?

Wow. Are you intentionally trying to repel people from this website with sarcasm and rudeness? Obviously I have no idea how this works which is why I asked the question in the first place. Maybe you should rethink the way you approach these kinds of questions. Talking to someone like they’re an idiot (when they’re simply asking for information) is not productive. You could have easily answered my question without being rude. Thanks for nothing.

Hm
I think ShyFlower has a point.
It’s not that easy to start a blog and make a lot of money. Don’t forget, most bloggers just don’t make money (except for a couple of dollars).
Start with gathering an audience, then sell something (affiliates, ebook, something else).
problogger.net is a good place to start.
Just don’t expect to earn $2000/month within a couple of months (or even years!)

First, you should think long and hard about your blog subject (your “niche”).