Php.in file

Hi all,

I’m new to PHP, I got a problem with my php.ini file. My web hosting does not create one, I have to create it myself, but have no idea how. Any ideas how is it done? What setting in that file mean what? Any links to more info would appreciated.

Thanks a lot.

You say you have a problem with your php.ini file and then you say you dont have one, which one is it?
Are you on a shared or dedicated hosting package? Are you trying to overrite php server values?

There was no php.ini on a server. I found one on the net, but not sure if it worked on my shared web hosting. It’s this one: http://www.reallylinux.com/docs/php.ini
I know I can change email values, but does it have anything to do with MySql database?

If you have shared hosting then there is one, in order for PHP to run, it requires one, but it wont be in your local path, so you can either create a small one with just the values you need or create a .htaccess and do it in there.

…and dont put that file above in your root…

It is seen by most as being a critical, but time-consuming, task as a learner to read and study all those comments inside your php ini file when starting out.

You do not need to fully understand what all of it means when starting out, but you must appreciate the impact it has on PHP applications which start running on those directives.

It tells PHP which key components to load up when the server is started/restarted, for example (you asked about databases).

Now, many of those directives can be adjusted at the page level or at the directory level - with apache .htaccess files and so on.

The danger is that your provider will have by necessity screwed down tightly (you hope!) many of the security features for very good reasons, and will not look kindly to you overriding them.

So know what you are doing.