Problem with Login form using Codeigniter

Hi, I just started studying codeigniter and I am now creating a login form. I got the code from external sources and now I’m getting an error with the code. Here’s the error:

The page you requested was not found.

technically, the page I am requesting cannot be found. here’s the snippet of my VIEW:

<div class="modal-body">
									<?php echo validation_errors(); ?>
									<?php echo form_open('verifylogin'); ?>
									<form method="POST">
										<div class="form-group">
											<label for="Username">Username</label>
											<input type="text" class="form-control" id="exampleInputEmail1" placeholder="Username" name="user">
										</div>
										<div class="form-group">
											<label for="Password">Password</label>
											<input type="password" class="form-control" id="exampleInputPassword1" placeholder="Password" name="pass">
										</div>
										<div class="checkbox">
											<label>
											  <input type="checkbox"> Remember Me
											</label>
										</div>
										<button type="submit" class="btn btn-default" value="Login">Submit</button>
									</form>
								</div>

what causing the error is this `<?php echo form_open('verifylogin'); ?>

`When I patients login button at the sidebar section a modal form will come out. When you click the submit it redirects to verifylogin controller.

This is the verifylogin .php code located in my controller:

<?php if ( ! defined('BASEPATH')) exit('No direct script access allowed');

class VerifyLogin extends CI_Controller {

function __construct()
{
parent::__construct();
$this->load->model(‘user’,‘’,TRUE);
}

function index( $page = ‘home’ )
{
if ( ! file_exists(APPPATH.‘/views/pages/’.$page.‘.php’)){
show_404();
}
//This method will have the credentials validation
$this->load->library(‘form_validation’);

$this->form_validation->set_rules(‘user’, ‘Username’, ‘trim|required|xss_clean’);