Question from the book Simply SQL

I am new to SQL and started with Simply SQL by Rudy Limeback. I really like the book. I am running a mysql server on a windows machine. My question utilizes the entries table from the content management system example. Actually, the question is much more basic. When we join two tables with a common field (primary key, foreign key), the resulting set (table) contains complete records for both tables that meet the selected criterion. However, when we operate on a single table, the resulting set is not always made up of entire records. For example, in the entries table if I run a query select id, category, title, created from entries where id = 1 or id = 2 or id = 3 or id = 4;
I will get 4 records from the entries which are complete. By complete, I mean that the category, title, time created will all be for the id = 1 or 2 or 3 or 4 in the original table.

mysql> select id, category, title, created from entries where id = 1 or id =2 or id =3 or id = 4;

±—±---------±----------------------------±--------------------+
| id | category | title | created |
| 1 | angst | What If I get Sick and Die? | 2015-04-12 20:57:24 |
| 2 | humor | Uncle Karl and the Gasoline | 2015-04-14 00:08:11 |
| 3 | advice | Be Nice to Me | 2015-04-12 23:09:35 |
| 4 | humor | Hello Statue | 2015-04-14 00:08:39 |

However, if I use the max(created) function to obtain the time at which say, the most recent humor article was created, I do not get the entire record when I enter the following query
mysql> select id, category, title, max(created) from entries;
| id | category | title | max(created) |
| 1 | angst | What If I get Sick and Die? | 2015-04-14 00:54:22 |
1 row in set (0.00 sec)